Moving Traditions

Rosh Hodesh

Rosh Hodesh: It’s a Girl Thing! is an experiential education program currently touching the lives of 3,500 girls across North America. The program uses Jewish teachings and practices to give girls a place to feel safe, articulate their deepest concerns, consider the impact of gender on their daily lives, have fun, and be ‘real’ with their peers. Through discussion, arts & crafts, creative ritual, games, and drama, the girls and their leaders draw on Jewish values and a gender lens to explore the issues the girls care about most, such as body image, friendship, relationships, family, competition, and stress.

Today, over a decade later, with 340 groups now meeting — some of whom for their third, fourth and even fifth years — and more than 1,000 women trained as group leaders, the program has touched the lives of more than 12,000 girls.

LEARN MORE

Calendar

-

Shevet Achim

Shevet Achim: The Brotherhood is a program designed for teen boys by a group of rabbis, educators, psychologists, parents, and teens themselves. In general, the program is a lot of fun for the guys—they’ll be playing various competitive and collaborative games, talking about pop culture, studying great Jewish texts, eating, and sharing stories. But they will also have an opportunity to discuss, in a confidential setting, critical issues in their lives as teens and young men.

You can find out more about the program and its curriculum by CLICKING HERE

GROUP LEADERS
Rosh Hodesh-8: 
Andrea McNellis
Rosh Hodesh-9: Jenna Katchen
Rosh Hodesh 10/11:  
Jessie Duke
Rosh Hodesh-12: Julia Paiyan

Shevet-8: TBD
Shevet-9: Gil Hetsroni
Shevet-10/11: Rabbi Matt Shapiro
Shevet-12: David Schwartzbaum



Register for Moving Traditions

Calendar

September 2022
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Aug 28
Mon, Aug 29
Tue, Aug 30
Wed, Aug 31
Thu, Sep 1
Fri, Sep 2
Sat, Sep 3
Sun, Sep 4
Mon, Sep 5
Tue, Sep 6
Wed, Sep 7
Thu, Sep 8
Fri, Sep 9
Sat, Sep 10
Sun, Sep 11
Shevet 9
-
Shevet 10/11
-
Mon, Sep 12
Tue, Sep 13
Wed, Sep 14
Thu, Sep 15
Fri, Sep 16
Sat, Sep 17
Sun, Sep 18
Shevet 12
-
Mon, Sep 19
Tue, Sep 20
Wed, Sep 21
Thu, Sep 22
Fri, Sep 23
Sat, Sep 24
Sun, Sep 25
Mon, Sep 26
Tue, Sep 27
Wed, Sep 28
Thu, Sep 29
Fri, Sep 30
Sat, Oct 1

YLE Staff

Rabbi Matt Shapiro

Titles: Director of Youth Learning & Engagement

Farrah Noah

Titles: YLE Operations Manager

Reut Sklar

Titles: Director of Youth & Teens, Camp Keshet Director

Andrea McNellis

Titles: JLC Director