Moving Traditions

Rosh Hodesh
Shevet Achim

Rosh Hodesh

Rosh Hodesh: It’s a Girl Thing! is an experiential education program currently touching the lives of 3,500 girls across North America. The program uses Jewish teachings and practices to give girls a place to feel safe, articulate their deepest concerns, consider the impact of gender on their daily lives, have fun, and be ‘real’ with their peers. Through discussion, arts & crafts, creative ritual, games, and drama, the girls and their leaders draw on Jewish values and a gender lens to explore the issues the girls care about most, such as body image, friendship, relationships, family, competition, and stress.

Today, over a decade later, with 340 groups now meeting — some of whom for their third, fourth and even fifth years — and more than 1,000 women trained as group leaders, the program has touched the lives of more than 12,000 girls.

LEARN MORE

Register for Moving Traditions

CLICK HERE to register

Shevet Achim

Shevet Achim: The Brotherhood is a program designed for teen boys by a group of rabbis, educators, psychologists, parents, and teens themselves. In general, the program is a lot of fun for the guys—they’ll be playing various competitive and collaborative games, talking about pop culture, studying great Jewish texts, eating, and sharing stories. But they will also have an opportunity to discuss, in a confidential setting, critical issues in their lives as teens and young men.

You can find out more about the program and its curriculum by CLICKING HERE

Group Leaders
Rosh Hodesh-8:
Julie Papiyan
Rosh Hodesh-9:
Sarah Greenfield
Rosh Hodesh-10:
Emily Holtzman
Rosh Hodesh-11:
Reut Sklar
Rosh Hodesh-12:
Aviva Funke

Shevet Achim-8:
David Schwartzman
Shevet Achim-9:
Zev Opos
Shevet Achim-10:
David Schnabel
Shevet Achim-12:
Adam Sklar

Calendar

Month, Week, or Day view selectors
January 2020
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Dec 29
Mon, Dec 30
Tue, Dec 31
Wed, Jan 1
Thu, Jan 2
Fri, Jan 3
Sat, Jan 4
Sun, Jan 5
Mon, Jan 6
Tue, Jan 7
Wed, Jan 8
Thu, Jan 9
Fri, Jan 10
Sat, Jan 11
Sun, Jan 12
Rosh Hodesh 9
-
Shevet 10
-
Rosh Hodesh 8
-
Shevet 11
-
Shevet 8
-
Rosh Hodesh 11
-
Rosh Hodesh 12
-
Mon, Jan 13
Tue, Jan 14
Wed, Jan 15
Thu, Jan 16
Fri, Jan 17
Sat, Jan 18
Sun, Jan 19
Mon, Jan 20
Tue, Jan 21
Wed, Jan 22
Thu, Jan 23
Fri, Jan 24
Sat, Jan 25
Sun, Jan 26
Mon, Jan 27
Tue, Jan 28
Wed, Jan 29
Thu, Jan 30
Fri, Jan 31
Sat, Feb 1



Register for Moving Traditions

YLE Staff

Rabbi Matt Shapiro

Titles: Director of Youth Learning & Engagement

Farrah Noah

Titles: YLE Operations Coordinator

Reut Sklar

Titles: Director of Youth & Teens, Camp Keshet Director

Amir Orbach

Titles: Director of JLC

YLE Calendar